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Statewide Vehicle Incentive Programs 
 

A. Overview 

The 2019 Transportation Bill (Act 59, § 34), as amended by the 2020 Transportation Bill (Act 

121, § 14) established three statewide vehicle incentive programs:  

 

1) a new plug-in electric vehicle (PEV) incentive program,  

2) a used fuel-efficient vehicle incentive program (MileageSmart), and  

3) an emissions-repair incentive program.  

 

As required by the 2019 and 2020 Transportation Bills, VTrans has filed a report evaluating the 

effectiveness of these programs. The following represents a summary of that report.  

B. Program Funding 

The 2019 Transportation Bill made only $150,000 of funding available to administer all three 

programs. VTrans learned early on that this would not be sufficient to retain contractors at 

market rates. To make the most of the funding available, VTrans decided to allocate the entire 

$150,000 to the used fuel-efficient vehicle program (MileageSmart) and the emissions-repair 

program and to use other means to run the New PEV Incentive Program.  

C. New PEV Incentive Program 

VTrans launched the New PEV Incentive Program in December 2019 and entered agreements 

with Drive Electric Vermont (through VEIC) and the State’s electric distribution utilities to help 

administer the Program. For about the first year of the Program, VTrans paid for Drive Electric 

Vermont’s administrative services through a $50,000 grant agreement that VTrans financed with 

air-quality settlement money transferred from ANR to VTrans. In addition, VTrans financed 

approximately $13,000 of administrative support from Drive Electric Vermont in the Program’s 

first year through an annual PSD-VEIC grant agreement funded by an interagency MOA. VTrans 

executed no-cost contracts with Vermont’s electric distribution utilities to issue incentives to 

Program applicants.  

 

The initial program incentive funding of $1,100,000 authorized by the 2019 Transportation Bill 

was fully drawn down by October 1, 2020. VTrans suspended the Program at that time and 
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negotiated amended agreements with Drive Electric Vermont and the distribution utilities to 

continue to administer the Program with $1,000,000 of additional funding made available 

through the 2020 Transportation Bill and Appropriations Bill (Act 154). The Appropriations Bill 

did not take effect until October 2, 2020.   

 

VTrans was able to relaunch the Program on November 5, 2020. VTrans allocated up to $50,000 

of the new Program funding to an amended grant agreement with VEIC for continued 

administrative support from Drive Electric Vermont. VTrans also executed amended no-cost 

contracts with the utilities. About $517,000 of funding currently remains available for incentives 

under the New PEV Incentive Program.  

 

As the Committee knows, the transportation sector generates more GHG emissions than any 

other sector of the economy, both in Vermont and nationwide. Transportation accounts for close 

to half of Vermont’s GHG emissions. While numerous strategies, including TDM, are important 

for addressing transportation GHG emissions, the quickest, most cost effective, and most 

comprehensive means of mitigating these emissions is by electrifying the entire transportation 

system. Motor vehicles will eventually electrify, but a robust policy framework is necessary to 

help ensure that the fleet electrifies quickly enough to meet the State’s GHG mitigation 

requirements and that Vermonters benefit fully from the renewable energy economy.  

 

Currently about 4,000 PEVs are registered in Vermont, and over 7% of new passenger car 

registrations are now electric. However, PEVs still represent less than 1% of the entire vehicle 

fleet in Vermont. The New PEV Incentive Program is an important means of continuing to 

increase PEV market share.  

 

As of early December, Vermont’s New PEV Incentive Program awarded about $1,240,000 of 

incentives. This represents about 394 incentive payments. Thus, the Program has been very 

popular despite the economic disruptions associated with the global pandemic.  

 

The Program has offered higher incentives for low-income Vermonters and for BEVs (versus 

PHEVs) since its inception. By the end of last year, low-income PEV incentives comprised about 

48% of the total quantity of incentives and 64% of incentive spending. Per capita incentives 

varied by county, with Washington County receiving the most incentive funding and Essex 

County receiving the least. UVM’s Transportation Research Center is seeking funding (from 

sources other than the State) to conduct survey research that may inform Program changes to 

better address equity and environmental justice considerations and to improve overall Program 

effectiveness. State funding for survey research would need to be competitively bid.  

 

Overall, the New PEV Incentive Program seems to be working as intended to increase PEV 

adoption in the State. The Program has succeeded due to the efforts of the electric utilities, who 

are processing the incentives and reimbursing dealers and consumers, Drive Electric Vermont’s 
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continuing work on program administration, and the Vermont Vehicle and Automotive 

Distributors Association’s efforts to organize participating dealers.  

 

New PEV Incentive Program Elements 

 

Available to Vermont residents.  

 

Available for new PEVs with a base MSRP of $40,000 or less. (Trimlines that bring the total sale 

price over $40,000 are eligible.)  

 

Applies to purchases or leases of new vehicles.  

 

Lease terms must be at least 24 months.  

 

Two ways to receive the incentive: 

 

1) Auto dealership point-of-sale or -lease. Consumer applies to the dealer. Dealer applies the 

appropriate incentive to the down payment. Dealer then submits the paperwork to the DU 

where the consumer lives. The DU reimburses the dealer. The State then reimburses the 

DU.  

 

2) Consumer direct incentives. Consumer submits proof of purchase or lease to their DU 

with a copy to DEV. The DU reimburses the consumer, and the State then reimburses the 

DU.  

 

Pre-approval by DEV is required for all consumer direct incentives. Pre-approval is required for 

dealer point-of-sale or -lease incentives once the incentive funds available fall below $200,000 to 

ensure available funds are not overdrawn.  

 

Income Eligibility Before July 1, 2020 

 

  Household income no more  Qualify for the State’s weatherization 

than 160% of MHI*   program     

 

PHEV  $1,500     $4,000 

 

BEV  $2,500     $5,000 

 

*160% of median household income was about $96,000 per year. Incentives limited to one per 

household.   
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Income Eligibility Since July 1, 2020* 

 

 
 

*Incentives limited to one per individual or married couple filing jointly. 

 

 

D. Used Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Incentive Program (MileageSmart) and Emissions-Repair 

Program 

In November 2019, VTrans entered a grant agreement with Capstone Community Action to run 

the used fuel-efficient vehicle and emissions-repair incentive programs. After being sidetracked 

by its work to address the global pandemic’s economic impacts, Capstone stood up a used fuel-
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efficient vehicle incentive program, which it calls MileageSmart, and began paying incentives in 

September 2020. Capstone determined that it was not able to launch an emissions-repair program 

due to insufficient program resources.  

 

Capstone invested about $10,000 in designing an emissions-repair program before abandoning 

that effort. By December 2020 Capstone had exhausted the remainder of the $150,000 that 

VTrans granted to Capstone to run both MileageSmart and the emissions-repair program. Since 

that time, Capstone has continued to run MileageSmart at its own administrative cost. Of the 

$750,000 of incentive funding the Legislature made available for both MileageSmart and the 

emissions-repair program, about $675,000 of incentive funding remains unspent.  

 

The 2020 Transportation Bill authorized VTrans to allocate up to $50,000 of additional 

administrative funding to Capstone to run both the used fuel-efficient vehicle and emissions-

repair incentive programs. This additional administrative funding was not available until the 

enactment of the Appropriations Bill (Act 154) on October 2, 2020. VTrans did not seek to enter 

into a second amended grant agreement with Capstone after the Appropriations Bill passed 

because the Legislature was clear that these additional $50,000 of administrative funds were to 

be used for both MileageSmart and the emissions-repair program, and Capstone was firm that it 

would not be able to stand up and operationalize an emissions-repair program, even with these 

additional funds.  

 

While MileageSmart incentives are not limited to PEVs, over half the incentives Capstone has 

paid have supported PEVs, and most or all the rest have been conventional hybrids. So far about 

$75,000 in incentive funding of the $750,000 of incentive funds made available for the Capstone 

programs has been distributed. The average incentive has been $3,700 per car, so about 182 

incentives remain. With uptake of between 10-15 incentives per month, it is estimated that this 

funding would remain available for 12-18 months. The $50,000 the Legislature authorized for 

the MileageSmart and emissions-repair program could be made available to Capstone to continue 

running MileageSmart. MileageSmart is helping people in need get into reliable transportation 

and is also helping bring the benefits of electric motoring to low-income Vermonters.  

 

Although Capstone was not able to stand up the emissions-repair incentive program, an 

emissions-repair program in Vermont run by a private administrator with adequate technical 

resources and knowledge of emissions repair programs could be a viable and cost-effective path 

forward. An emissions-repair program would assist people who need emissions repairs to a 

vehicle that passes the safety inspection but who cannot afford to purchase a vehicle, even with 

other incentive funds available. Repairing a vehicle that has significant remaining useful life can 

make better financial sense than purchasing a vehicle. An emissions repair program would also 

advance the State’s goals of protecting air quality by ensuring that vehicles are able to operate as 

designed to reduce emissions and protect the public health. DEC, which runs the State’s mobile-
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source emissions air-quality program, would be the appropriate agency to oversee an emissions 

repair program if provided with adequate resources.  

 

MileageSmart Program Elements 

 

The used fuel-efficient vehicle incentive program must limit purchase incentive payments to 

used pleasure cars with EPA fuel efficiency ratings of at least 40 miles per gallon when these 

vehicles were new. Point-of-sale incentives must be provided through the State’s network of 

community action agencies and must be limited to applicants with incomes that would qualify 

them for services through the State’s Weatherization Program. The 2019 and 2020 

Transportation Bills establish a maximum incentive of $5,000 under this program. 

 

 

 

Emissions-Repair Program Elements 

 

The emissions-repair program applies to vehicles that failed emissions testing, that require 

repairs to pass testing that are not covered by warranty, and that will be able to pass inspection 

once repairs are made under the program. Incentives must be commensurate to the vehicle’s fair 

market value and may not exceed $2,500. $2,500 incentives are available only for vehicles with 

fair market values of at least $5,000. Income eligibility is measured by the same criteria as the 

State’s Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP). 

 

 

 


